What’s happened to my life? There I was, minding my own business, writing a couple of blogs, visiting my blogger friends, reading books – I’ve read 30 so far this year; my goal is 35. Around a month ago I started A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, the first in his quadrology (is that what you call a four book series?). Four weeks later it sits there on my coffee table – 161 pages read.

What happened? Apps appened. It started when my wife bought me an iPad several months back. The reason for the iPad, primarily, was to buy and read books electronically. Haven’t bought one. Nope. Instead I’ve loaded up on free Apps. Weather Network, various news agencies, a cool music App Awedetorium, Flipboard and Zite. Oh but that wasn’t enough. Oh, no. Solitaire, Mahjong and Angry Birds rounded out my selections. Well, it wasn’t enough to have them on my iPad. I had to get Mahjong and Solitaire for my Mac Book too.

And of course I play these games every spare minute. Even while I’m watching TV. I am, I’m sorry to say addicted. I blog less. I read less. I eat less. Well, wait a minute. Two out of three isn’t bad.

And what does my wife have to say about this addiction? Nothing. She’s too busy playing game Apps on my iPad when I’m not.

