Who said that anyway? What does it mean? Well actually it’s “when the frost is on the punkin” and it’s from little-known poet James Whitcomb Riley who died in 1916. A little Google in my hand and I’m dangerous. Here’s the first verse. If you’re interested you can see the rest here.

When the frost is on the punkin and the fodder’s in the shock,
And you hear the kyouck and gobble of the struttin’ turkey-cock,
And the clackin’ of the guineys, and the cluckin’ of the hens,
And the rooster’s hallylooyer as he tiptoes on the fence;
O, it’s then’s the times a feller is a-feelin’ at his best,
With the risin’ sun to greet him from a night of peaceful rest,
As he leaves the house, bareheaded, and goes out to feed the stock,
When the frost is on the punkin and the fodder’s in the shock.

 

 

This morning, though, the frost was on the golf course and it set my tee off time back from 8am to about 8:50. So I spent half-an-hour alone on the range (where seldom is heard a discouraging word).

When I finally got on the first tee things had warmed up a wee bit. I think it was about 5 celsius. I golfed the front 9 alone. On the back 9 I was joined by another single player.

Well I shouldn’t say alone because on the 9th fairway I had company. I guess you could say they were fawning over me.

There were two more and all four of them strolled across the fairway in front of me. It really was a feel good moment. My score of 98 only added to my morning.

