This’ll be me soon, especially the hand-gesture.

“It has recently been discovered that research causes cancer in rats.”

I don’t know who said that, but it sure makes me laugh. And it makes me laugh, probably, because I have cancer…again.

There I was, minding my own business, planning my seven-week golf vacation to Panama and Orlando when out of the blue my doctor tells me I can’t go. The “C” is back.

Now I’m trying to figure out what I can do with those golf shirts and shorts and bathing suits I bought – in -20C weather – as opposed to wearing them in +35C.

I was first diagnosed with multiple myeloma 10 years ago, a cancer that affects blood cells and by association bones. It can’t be eradicated but it can be treated. So there’s a downside but there’s also an upside. I’ve had two stem cell transplants, more radiation sessions than I care to count and I have a corner on the cancer drug market having taken every chemo drug, pain killer, and other drugs do deal with the side-afects of the key drugs.

The treatment is required in cycles of about two years. Looks like we’re coming up on the next one.

But as I enter the next phase I’m reminded of Mark Twain, who once said…or maybe twice or three times, I’m not sure:

“Against the assault of laughter, nothing can stand.”

And that’s why I try to look on the bright side. I may have to go through heavy-duty treatment every 2 years or so, but that’s a lot better than the alternative.

Besides, look at the advantages:

1) chauffeured trips to the hospital by my wife for my treatments

2) hospital food for a couple of weeks post transplant…mmm, yummy

3) joining the ranks of the Yul “So let it be written, so it shall be” Brenner, Telly “Who loves ya baby?” Savalas and Patrick “Make it so” Stewart look-a-likes…at least for 6-8 months.

4) hey, is there a TV show or a movie in this for me?

5) after all is said and done a new lease on life.

Life is good!

